Parent Community

Our vibrant and active parent community helps to create a warm, cooperative atmosphere and sets a positive role model for our students. Parents volunteer a minimum of 10 hours per year in many roles, including committee work, classroom support, grounds and maintenance, and technical support.

Throughout the year, activities for parents and the whole family keep everyone informed and involved.

  • Parent Education nights are offered several times a year, covering various topics related to the Montessori philosophy, classroom materials, and parenting.
  • Parent Observations and Parent-Teacher conferences help to foster a strong bond between home and school.
  • Family Event activities are planned throughout the year to provide opportunities for families to get together outside of school time. Past activities include hayrides, family dances, bowling parties, Parent’s Night Out (with corresponding pizza-pajama party for the children), and an ice cream social.

2015-2016 Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

Cheryl Ellis, President
president@oceanstatemontessori.org

Odessa Holt, Vice President
vicepresident@oceanstatemontessori.org

Treasurer (TBD)
treasurer@oceanstatemontessori.org

Melissa Malone, Secretary
secretary@oceanstatemontessori.org

Additional Board Members:

Meghan Devinat
Marylee Dixon
Sarah Klump
Sam O'Connell
Kate Parsons


School Committees 

Buildings and Grounds
Tami Ferriauolo & John Hewitt
buildinggrounds@oceanstatemontessori.org

Communications
TBD
communications@oceanstatemontessori.org

Community Events
TBD
communityevents@oceanstatemontessori.org

Finance
TBD
treasurer@oceanstatemontessori.org

Fundraising
TBD
fundraising@oceanstatemontessori.org

Grants
TBD
grants@oceanstatemontessori.org

Strategic Planning
TBD
strategicplanning@oceanstatemontessori.org

Technology
Joshua Ellis
technology@oceanstatemontessori.org